I Wish – Skee-Lo

5 Aug

A couple of days ago, I was unexpectedly reminded of a classic song that I hadn’t heard for a long time. A cover of Skee-Lo’s I Wish came on the radio, and it got me thinking about how much I loved the original. I have to say, at the time, I didn’t like the cover, which as it turns out, was by a band called The Secret Handshake. Here’s Skee-Lo’s awesome original:

After reliving that gem, I then decided to go back and give the cover another listen, because I thought that maybe the nostalgia I felt for the original affected my judgement of this more recent version. The Secret Handshake turn the song into pop, giving it a real melody, and employing sugary synths to construct the backing. Personally, it’s not my thing, and I much prefer the original, but in case you want to check the other version out, here you go:

Leave a Reply

