Nothing To Remember – Neko Case

29 Mar
Something To Remember: Neko Case

Something To Remember: Neko Case

This is one of my favourites from THG soundtrack. It works even better if you’re well-versed in Panem culture but is a sweet accompaniment to even the THG-ignorant (Michael). Transience, leaving an impression and dehumanization are all vital components of the books and (coincidenceville!) this song. 

It’s Case’s tones that make the song (part Corinne Bailey Rae, part Ingrid Michaelson) as well as the lyrics. Let’s skip to the chase, they are perfect for THG. It opens with suitably Katnissian lines:

I spend my life 
Becoming invisible

And then! How (only in the movie) Cato! How on-the-rooftop talks between Katniss and Peeta!:

I’m barely human 
And I’m ashamed that 
I don’t have a heart you can break 
I’m just action 
And at other times reaction

And the chorus:

All I owe, all I owe
Strides I spend to the finish line 
All I owe, all I owe 
Strides I spend to the finish line

There you have it; a lazy, walk-through guide to one of the best songs on the soundtrack. You’re welcome. 

Leave a Reply

