Abraham’s Daughter – Arcade Fire

21 Mar

New Music!

Hi! Sorry for the lack of … anything recently. My life has been completely taken over by The Hunger Games. Everyone probably thinks they are the most extreme fans but I regularly exhibit worrying signs of addiction. Stephen Fry still reads HP to me to sleep and I save my HP stationary paper for really, really special people. Anyway, 3 books, 1 soundtrack and 7 hours browsing The Hunger Games Tumblr page and I’ve come back down to Earth. Or as close to Earth as one can be while listening to the audiobook. Anyway, as the film is released on Friday (Friday! So close! And on a side note: my local cinema is one of the only ones to show prreviews on the Thursday. I’m busy unfortunately, which has made me about as happy as a trackerjacked Glimmer) I thought I’d pull some notable songs from the soundtrack. Which is really, really good. Behold:

A new track from Arcade Fire is always going to be an exciting affair. That it’s the lead track from my most anticipated film of 2012 (thus far, natch)? Too good to be true. AF are pretty much a perfect fit for THG. They can be moody and atmospheric while maintaing a bizarro dry wit throughout. That may seem fairly unsubstantiated but Neon Bible seems doused in a irony (see: Intervention.) Anyway, moody but dry are both prevalent in our Katniss so bravo, THG soundtrack producers! More music later this week. I promise.

Leave a Reply

