My Favo(u)rite Things – John Coltrane

14 Mar

Coltrane: Not a jumper. But with added saxophone.

I’m a big, big fan of jumpers. On my list of favourite things, they definitely rate in the Top 15 (probably below tea but above television boxsets.) And it seems a pretty good time to be a jumper in pop music right now! Sings LDR on Blue Jeans, ‘you fit me better than my favourite sweater.’ And Meg Myers in After You, confesses that ‘I stole this sweater from your car so I’d have you all night in my arms.’ Okay, okay, these may err on the restraining order side of life but I can totally relate (which, admittedly may tell you more about me than jumper-related lyrics.) There’s something hugely comforting about jumpers; their smells, their feel and their fit. You can tell exactly whose jumper it belongs to by those three things. (This is a lie, I’ve never, ever tried this experiment. Ever.) Okay, so a whole article about jumpers in music is a bit of a stretch but I thought it was an interesting segue. I just googled ‘jumpers in music’ which pretty much sums up my Sunday night. Anyway, the point of this post is that I’m currently searching for comfort within music and that this will be the theme for my next few posts. Music as comfortable as your favouritist jumper after the… jump:

I’m putting my neck out on this one: Jazz is one of the most calming things in the world. Which is completely bizarro when you think about it. Saxophones and trumpets are hardly the most delicate of instruments and something about jazz feels inherently unpredictable (see: Homeland’s introduction. Also, just see Homeland, too.) But if you’ve listened to enough, you start to fit into the groove of Jazz. It’s a type of music that requires great trust. You don’t know when the hook is going to kick in, where the soar lies or if the final chorus is going to go down a key. To all intents and purposes, you have no idea what’s coming next. Which is why it’s so relaxing. It’s not often that you can fully commit yourself to a piece of music and let it do the work. This is a really long way of saying that if you’ve have a mondo rubbish day, lie back and listen to Jazz. And there’s no better place to start than Coltrane (Not true: Davis.) Make sure you listen to his full, 14 minute rendition of My Favourite Things (or, egregiously: My Favorite Things) which may just be the most glorious piece of music ever made. But it’s not overwhelmingly glorious, it’s at times comforting, at others exultant. I’m going to shut up, wish you a good day and let you listen:

Leave a Reply

