Where Have You Been – Rihanna

23 Nov

I don’t know if you know this guys, but Rihanna’s latest album is about sex. That was sarcasm. Of course you know it’s about sex. Sex sex sex. There, I said it. Every single review you read of Talk That Talk will mention that Rihanna mentions sex. So much so that as I was searching for the album on YouTube, I accidently typed in ‘Talk That Sex.’ But does it really matter? Not by virtue of being about sex it doesn’t. Sure, I wouldn’t give this to a seven year old niece but it’s nothing they’re not going to find out about with a few clicks on the internet, or a glance at any billboard. And no-one would bat an eyelid if this were a male contemporary singing the exact same lyrics. By virtue of being, you know, a female, Rihanna doesn’t owe society an image of sanctity or lady-like manners. If the subject matter is convincing, on the other hand, is a different matter. It’s been said that Rihanna’s albums often don’t feel like albums, so much as a highly-produced set of singles tied together by an album title, which can be as vague a word as ‘loud.’ To which I say: Have you heard Rated R? That album is Rihanna’s most consistent, and I would argue brilliant that absolutely has a ‘point.’ So in short, no it doesn’t matter that Rihanna (or any other female popstar) sings about sex. Yes, it is an acceptable subject matter (to a point.) And the music itself? Well yes, it’s rather good!

I’ll post a longer review when I’ve more time and my copy of the album actually arrives (yes I buy CDs, it’s part of my old-school aesthetic.) We’ve all heard We Found Love and I’ve already made an AVPM reference. You may snicker but that is pretty much my daily routine these days. It’s a fairly solid debut single but it’s the video that is really remarkable for me. After a quick flick through some of Talk That Talk, a few tracks stand out. You Da One is punchy, Talk That Talk is good but let down by an obligatory yet saddening Jay-Z cameo and Birthday Cake is quite delicious. The stand-out (and surely, third single?) is Where Have You Been. It’s Dr Luke. It’s Calvin Harris. It’s expectedly satisfying. Take a listen, and enjoy:

3 Responses to “Where Have You Been – Rihanna”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What We’re Listening To: Edition 7 « Can You Hear This - November 25, 2011

    […] two minutes of calm. Okay, the real reason why this has been on repeat this week is because Rihanna sampled it in Drunk On Love from Talk That Talk. If you’ve a spare four hours, trawl through […]

  2. 10 Things I Love About Pop: Week 7 « Can You Hear This - November 26, 2011

    […] As a side note, I won’t be featuring previously reviewed tracks, We Found Love or Where Have You Been. Jonah, who is a much more accomplished Drake source than me has already reviewed Make Me Proud, […]

  3. Where Have You Been – Rihanna « Can You Hear This - April 30, 2012

    […] not deja-vu, Rihanna just released a video for the song about which I’ve already blogged. More details […]

Leave a Reply

