What We’re Listening To: Week 4

14 Oct

Clockwise from Left to Right : And The Giraffe don't have time for named photos, Trent Daggs is sad in the subway, Feist is on a tree and Citizen Cope just looks cool

This week’s selection of our favourite songs is up – hope you like them!

Michael: Trent Dabbs – Off We Go

One Tree Hill is a funny show. While it can be dramatic, moving and funny, it can also be dull, predictable and cringe. The inconsistency of episodes across the eight series thus far is in direct contrast to the remarkably constant stream of good music. Regardless whether the episode blows, at least you will have heard a song for the first time that really rocks. Such an event happened to me this week during I Think I’m Gonna Like It Here, a reasonable episode made all the better thanks to the opening song. The song encapsulates everything good about the show. Trent Dabbs will probably remind you of OneRepublic (I like them okay!) and should brighten your mood today.

Henry: And The Giraffe – Still

From the old school to the really new school. A band I’ve had on repeat all week are And The Giraffe with their debut album, Something For Someone. I’ll be putting up a post with their music next week but for the time being take a listen to Still. It has hints of The National and Buxter Hoot’n but is utterly unique, too. You can download their album (for free!) over here.

Jonah: Citizen Cope – Let The Drummer Kick That

I’ve always been a fan of Citizen Cope (aka Clarence Greenwood), and I think that this might be his best offering of all. For these Song of The Week features, I’ve been giving you the chilled out songs that I play when my obscene hours of homework force me to stay awake far into the wee hours. This is in contrast to Michael’s more upbeat choices, which exist because he does no schoolwork.

Luke: Feist – Undiscovered First

This new song from one of my favourite folk artists really struck a chord with me for some reason. Maybe its the key-like jangling at the beginning, or perhaps the laconic guitar rhythm, or the ever-present beat. I can’t really nail the reason down but I can tell you that it’s currently leading my most played by quite a margin. The song reaches its climax at its crescendo where you will be cocooned by this wonderfully rough yet somehow comforting sound. You’ll be swept along by its beat and melody towards bliss. The rest of the album, Metals, is also well worth a listen.

Be sure to check out last week’s choices too!

3 Responses to “What We’re Listening To: Week 4”

  1. xandimusic October 22, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    very nice music on your blog!
    especially the Michael: Trent Dabbs – Off We Go song is nice 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Underground Love – And The Giraffe « Can You Hear This - October 21, 2011

    […] the eagle-eyed among you, you’ll remember that I featured the band on Mikey’s What We’re Listening To (which will return when the author does from America) column. That week, I was listening to Still […]

  2. What We’re Listening To: Edition 5 « Can You Hear This - November 4, 2011

    […] friends, just because there is a new name doesn’t mean you can’t enjoy some of the old version’s classics. But onto new things after the […]

Leave a Reply

