What We’re Listening To: Week 3

7 Oct

We’re back again with another installment of songs our brains have been tuned to. Two things – 1. I hope you guys aren’t bored with this feature already, it’s going to keep going and 2. I think I’m going to rapidly run out of analogies for songs we like.. And don’t worry, Jonah continues to make musical mistakes this week.

Clockwise from Left to Right: Hold Up Nancy are fresh, Busted are so far from fresh it's untrue, Janet Devlin has the X Factor and Bob Dylan had/has it all

Michael: Janet Devlin – Us

The X Factor is not a good show. It’s simple, way to full of itself (compared to the might of Survivor!) and its contestants absolutely govern how good each year will be. Thankfully this year has Janet Devlin. Her voice is utterly mesmerizing and the stand out of the competition. It’s hard to describe just why but it genuinely gives me goose bumps. She’s now through to the live finals but you can listen to all sorts of her covers like Regina Spektor’s Us on youtube.

Henry: Bob Dylan – The Times They Are A-Changin’

I’m a little bit obsessed with MTV Unplugged albums and Bob Dylan’s is one of my favourite recordings. Here’s The Times They Are A-Changin’ which never really gets old. Bob Dylan, though? He does. I saw him last summer at a festival and he was clearly tired. In fairness, if I were one of most talented musicians of my generation, I would probably need a few naps too. Longing for a franchise of old and the hey-day of one of my favourite singers, when did I get so old?

Jonah: Busted – That’s What I Go To School For

Yes. Busted. When I started this blog, I took a private oath that I would ignore what the world thought of me and tell you what I liked regardless. At the risk of sounding like a 10-year-old girl, Busted are on my favourite bands. I have a theory that over time, the general public will begin to realise this and Busted (now devastatingly split) will receive the plaudits that they deserve. If for no other reason, simply humour me and listen to this song and see if you don’t feel your mood lift.

ASIDE: While I will maintain journalistic integrity by reserving comment and I am glad that Jonah has put effort in this week, I seriously hope this was a joke.

Luke: Hold Up Nancy! – Tell Me

This is a great little tune I stumbled upon yesterday. Hold up Nancy! are only 16 (it’s not another Kayote don’t worry) but have a sound far beyond their years with just  that twist of ever hopeful youth. It’s more than just fresh – I dare you to find a tune from a young band with as much melodic depth and vocal complexity. Definitely ones to watch for the future but in the mean time enjoy their latest.

Be sure to also check out our choices from the last couple of weeks:

Week 2

Week 1

3 Responses to “What We’re Listening To: Week 3”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What We’re Listening To: Week 4 « Can You Hear This - October 14, 2011

    […] the old school to the really new school (this is delicious synopticity). A band I’ve had on repeat all week […]

  2. 10 Things I Love About Pop: Week 3 « Can You Hear This - October 22, 2011

    […] Remember a few weeks back when I talked about Unplugged on Mikey’s weekly column? No, neither do I. But I searched the blog and apparently I did. Anyway, the awesome (and […]

  3. If We Stay Young – Waiting On Jack « Can You Hear This - October 28, 2011

    […] back (incidentally so is Jonah but I’m sure you don’t care about that after he lost all credibility a couple of weeks ago)! The USA, Jonah’s home, was amazing but I’m very glad to be […]

Leave a Reply

