Mojave – Afro Celt Sound System

16 Aug

Bear with me on this one. See it as a chance to broaden your musical horizon and then some. My (crazy) uncle has been staying with us for the last few days, and the other night we were having a discussion about music which led him to rave about these guys. He explained to me that they’re sound is a fusion of African and Celtic music (something I had guessed was the case- give me a little credit), and urged me to listen to them. So, unable to contain my curiosity, I put on Mojave.

The beginning, as my uncle describes it, is quite self-indulgent. But I still really like it. The echoing voice sets a beautifully ambient tone and there is some form of a flute involved that also contributes. About halfway through the song, we get hit by this brilliant African beat that has Celtic instruments layered over the top, and I’ll tell you what… It works. Really well. It may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but today I’m challenging you to step outside the box, and try something new. Who knows? You may love it.

Leave a Reply

