Tears Dry On Their Own – Amy Winehouse

1 Aug

Amy Winehouse: As she should be remembered.

By now, every aspect of Amy Winehouse’s life, downward trajectory and death has been pored over, analysed and commented upon. As such, it’s difficult to add anything that hasn’t been said. However, I believe it is worth adding support to those who praise Winehouse’s wonderful body of work and her obvious amiability rather than those who focus upon her excessive drug taking and downward spiral. Many things irritated me about Winehouse’s life. It wasn’t simply the constant documentation of her life and partying but rather the nonchalant treatment of a fantastic singer as nothing more than a Big Brother contestant. Russell Brand has already written a moving, heartfelt obituary for The Guardian but I’m more interested in Lady Gaga’s reaction. She claimed that Amy Winehouse made it okay for girls to be weird in pop. As The A.V Club noted, in the way that Winehouse presented a different image, she was a ‘trailblazer.’ Her force, if not musical influence can be seen in the likes of Gaga and Adele today. For that, I will be thankful and I regret neglecting that in my article about pop music’s tendency to embrace ‘weirdness.’

That’s all I have to add to (the on-going and deserved) discussion of Winehouse. The kindest thing any music journalist could do would be to remind everyone of Winehouse’s overlooked song-writing and her unforgettable voice. Which is exactly what I’ll do now, with my favourite Winehouse single, which seems apt for many a Winehouse mourner, Tears Dry On Their Own:

3 Responses to “Tears Dry On Their Own – Amy Winehouse”

  1. Penny Horne August 1, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    I agree totally with your comments on Amy.
    I am so pleased I saw her incredible performance at IOW Festival in 2008 and her surprise guest appearance with the Stones at the same event.
    I’ll never forget her mind blowing duet with Mick Jagger and being aware that she was a rare talent.
    I cried when I overheard someone in the street saying she had died. What a waste!

    • Henry Wong August 2, 2011 at 3:33 am #

      I just watched her performance with Mick Jagger on Youtube- so jealous that you actually saw it live!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Birthday To Us: Our Favourite Songs Of The Year « Can You Hear This - August 3, 2011

    […] xx) have also flourished. Recently, we’ve been saddened by the loss of a fantastic female artist, Amy Winehouse whose loss will be felt for years to come. Having created such stirring singles such as Love Is A […]

Leave a Reply

