R.P Murphy – Look See Proof

6 Feb

https://i0.wp.com/www1.sk-static.com/images/media/img/col6/20100330-111559-849592.jpgIt’s my birthday so I am treating you to one of my favourite songs of all time. I have been emotionally attached to Look See Proof for the last four years – it’s true, ask anyone who knows me. The four-piece, and then latterly five-piece when Jaime Randall joined, hailed from Hertfordshire and played exciting indie rock from 2006 to 09. They played the Lily Allen Show and got a lot of good press. However, after they were dropped by the record label for their second album, the group split. Fortunately, My Vessel, the split-off group seem to be going well, but nonetheless, this was a significant loss to the music world!

R.P Murphy was one of the four songs they released which were set to feature on the second album, and it was arguably their best ever. It is, of course, about One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest, and showed the band pushing the boundaries of what they did. It sounds a lot like the best songs from their first album such as Local Hero, but Jaime Randall added some important keyboards and the lyrics are awesome. The words clearly come from the point of view of the protagonist, Randle McMurphy, and it gives the song another dimension which… I am rambling here but listen, there is so much about this song that is so good!

5 Responses to “R.P Murphy – Look See Proof”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. We Stumble Down – Waiting On Jack « Can You Hear This - March 7, 2011

    […] time now having found their MySpace around six months ago. Citing their influences as BIGSLEEP, Look See Proof & Underground Heroes (who they recently supported), they naturally fit in well here […]

  2. Leyton – My Vessel « Can You Hear This - April 25, 2011

    […] almost impossible not to feel like you’re in a dream. And also, Dave Sells (lead singer of Look See Proof) puts some backing vocals to this! So there you have it folks, as long as My Vessel keeps going, […]

  3. What We’re Listening To: Week 1 « Can You Hear This - September 23, 2011

    […] a new sound for the band and I challenge anyone not to feel motivated by its stirring chorus. Look out for a full review of Freedom Run on […]

  4. On My Mind – Ollie Lee « Can You Hear This - December 5, 2011

    […] my tastes, knowing that it is fairly difficult for you guys to insult them (I’m talking about Look See Proof).But a major benefit is that I can share any music and today it’s the music of a friend of […]

  5. Fortress – Burial Club « Can You Hear This - January 30, 2012

    […] Look See Proof. Those three words just conjure up such mixed emotions. On the one hand, I’m obsessed so obviously I’m excited by them. But on the other, when they split, my heart was broken. I thought beyond repair. I thought wrong! Check out some of their former glory as you read through this post though. […]

Leave a Reply

